Cycle Touring – All the Gear & No idea !

Well I had to start some time.  I’d spent months converting my old Mountain Bike, spending inordinate amounts of money I can’t afford and making excuses to the point where I couldn’t think of any more.  My wheeled Zimmer frame was ready for action.


This is my old GT Pantera now weighed down with 2 pannier racks, 4 Ortlieb Roller panniers, Altura rack pack and Avenir bar bag.  By the time the substantial pilot straddles the saddle it’s a wonder the aged cheapie tyres didn’t explode!

The old suspension fork has been replaced with a rigid ‘Exotic’ carbon fork which briefly made for an excellent and lightweight rigid MTB until I bolted on several hundredweight of accoutrement’s to realise the conversion to a Chieftain Tank!


22nd March 2012:
Having completed an exhaustive series of Road Trials  (a 5 minute spin around the block the day before departure) I tentatively wheeled the beast down the drive and with the self-consciousness befitting the brightly clad pilot of a Expedition loaded touring bike in the suburbs of Manchester I nervously wobbled down the road for my journey to Piccadilly station to get the midday train to York.
The plan was to cycle from York to Whitby over 2 days to meet with my wife and friends for the weekend.

The cycle path on the East Lancs road proved to be a good and safe opportunity to reduce my wobble factor before contending with city centre traffic.  I survived a couple of dodgy looking subways in Salford and committed to crossing the city centre of Manchester bound for the station.  A bit of uncertainty on the approach to the station precipitated 1 or 2 dubious manoeuvres which fortunately went unnoticed by the local constabulary.

To say that a fully loaded touring bike at a busy train station is an embuggerance would be something of an understatement!  I did quickly discover though that the ‘gimmick’ of my loops of Bungee cord on the handlebars to lock the brakes on was no gimmick but actually invaluable.  A bike so heavy does not want to stand still when propped-up against anything.

To my amazement and after much stress and consternation about where on the train I could stow my bike, the train pulled to a halt with a door displaying a ‘Cycle’ sign exactly opposite where I stood.  Also, my reserved seat was within 3 metres of where the bike was stashed so itall  went very smoothly.

I disembarked at York and cycled through the city in the sunshine, I seemed to attract lots of admiring glances (it may have been pity) from the numerous Japanese tourists in town.

I was soon out of town and heading north (ish) in the direction of Castle Howard where I planned to camp.
The Vale of York, with it’s quiet country lanes and pleasant villages was a joy to cycle.  I was surprised that such a heavily loaded bike was no great effort to ride, at least when things were fairly level.

One steep pull towards the end of the day forewarned of things to come the following day but the final approach to Castle Howard was impressive indeed.






















The camp site at Castle Howard is in a stunning location with distant views to the great house across the Lake.  Not the cheapest at £14 for 1 person and a bike but as I had the site to myself, it didn’t seem so bad.



 

With  clear skies, my 1-2 season sleeping bag was left wanting, it was a long and chilly night.



23rd March 2012:
Day 2 was to be a much longer day with a lot more upping and downing, I hadn’t realised it would be quite so steep!  From Castle Howard the route lay east then north, gradually climbing up on to the Roman road which runs north/south over the North York Moors.  Several sustained climbs brought home to me the realities of fully loaded touring and made me appreciate the newly added extra gears, from 7 speed to 9.

Crossing the Roman road on the North York Moors




 


The Roman road has been superseded by a main road further east so sees very little traffic.  The climb wasn’t so bad and the descent to the north was worth the effort of the climb.











After dropping down from the moors I’d foolishly assumed the hardest work was over but found some of the climbs between the villages on the northeast edge of the moors to be a bit too challenging.  Three times I had to dismount and push including near the villages of Grosmont and Ugglebarnby.  For someone who doesn’t walk too well at the best of times, pushing a Chieftain tank up 3 steep hills is not a good day at the office!

 
After one steep descent (into Grosmont) I was faced with fording a river or tackling a footbridge much too narrow to take my bike?
I pondered on whether to ford until a road cyclist came in the opposite direction and bravely ploughed into the river.  He skittered and skated until, after a few metres he thought better of it and retreated to the footbridge.




























I had little choice, I had to remove all my panniers, carry them across the bridge and then return to collect the bike – getting tired now!






I made it into Whitby after around 6 hours on the road.  An excellent day only slightly blighted by the look of bemusement on the B & B landlady’s face, I’d booked months before and hadwritten  confirmation but she had no record of the booking and was full for the weekend!  Luckily she had a brother who could accommodate us, ah well – it was a great introduction to Cycle Touring.

Leave a comment