Anabatic woes

The hills are hard and some of the descents are not so easy.

I’m a few days behind with my blog which doesn’t concern me as it’s a case of posting when I get the chance and if I have the inclination.  I wouldn’t be posting now if I could walk around town and explore the place.  The town in question is Aranda de Duero on the river of the same name and the capitol of the Ribero wine growing district.
So far, I spent nights in Somo, Laredo, Bilbao (x2), Traspaderne, Burgos, Covarrubiillas (sp), and now Aranda.  I’ve camped the last 3 nights so was due for a treat.  I rode into town ignoring all the decent looking Hotels and headed for the back streets, I know my place.  I found an establishment that looks suitably squalid so rattled on the door to get a price – 25 euro, acceptable.  The room is ‘rustic and interesting’ but far superior to my hovel in Bilbao.  The tv even worked once I’d found a scart lead!

The camping has been reasonably priced, I’d heard bad things about Spanish camp sites charging 20 euro+ but the last 3 were, 12, 9 and 12 euro.  The quality of location has been varied with the one on the 2nd night, in Laredo the best so far and last night in the place I can’t spell the least salubrious!

 

 Laredo: Each pitch had it’s own sink!

The view across the bay from

the Laredo camp.

 

My bike precariously strapped (with 1 bungee cord) to the small ferry on the crossing from Santander to Somo on the first day in Spain.
I’ll explain about my wind problem on my next post, I need food.  It was a hard day!
I’ll also tell you about the Spanish couple on the camp site at Trespaderne, don’t let me forget!

Hasta luego

 

Leave a comment