A short tour in Almeria province – Day 1 of 3

Rain wear not required!

Since reaching my destination 2 months ago I’ve been exploring the local area on short day rides, short mainly due to the heat.  This week I decided to venture a little further afield with a 3 day outing around the area  to the north of the Cabo de Gata coastline, east of the provincial capital Almeria.
I am based temporarily (thanks to the kindness of my sister and brother-in-law) in the village of La Alfoquia which is between the towns of Albox and Huercal Overa.   My brother, who also lives locally was to join me on the first leg of my journey. 
After refitting the indispensable mirror to my bike following yet another repair we were ready for the off.  
A quick stop at the Todo (everything) shop in the village en route to stock up on phone credit ‘just in case’ and were soon enjoying the level first mile as we know it won’t last!
The climb starts on the approach to Zurgena and continues unabated for around 40 minutes.  I’m supposed to be in touring mode but my brother only knows one pace – ‘flat out’.  Carying gear for a three day trip I struggle to hang on to his wheel.
The sight of the typical Spanish hill village of Lubrin is a welcome one, the journey is less than 2 hours but not easily gained,  A short steep descent brings us to a favourite local bar on the edge of town where we both order a much needed cold drink and a tostada with tomato.  The humble tostada is something of a ritual in Spain, the local crusty ‘Barra’ (a big baguette) is halved and spread with grated tomato.  The toasted bread is then vigorously stabbed with a fork so that lashings of olive oil can be poured on and soaked up.  A little salt and pepper completes what is a delicious breakfast.  The local olive oil by the way is said to be the best in the world, of course it’s the people of Lubrin who say that! 
I bid farewell to my brother who returns, largely downhill to Zurgena.  My onward journey involves another stiff pull up to El Pilar and then on to Uleila del Campo.  I’m skirting the eastern end of the Sierra de los Filabres mountain range but fortunately crossing the range at a fairly low altitude.  It’s hot work but as I’m hosteling and not carrying camping gear, the bike isn’t too heavy.
                        The scorched hills between Lubrin and El Pilar following bush fires,
                                     fortunately the road was an effective fire-break.
The small town of Uleila del Campo on the southeastern flanks of the Sierra de los Filabres range
Beyond Uleila del Campo the going is easy down to the main N340 road which leads on to Tabernas which is well known as the main town of the Tabernas dessert, famous as the place where many of the spaghetti westerns along with other films have been shot.
The hostel I’m heading for was described as being ‘in’ Los Yesos which is marked on my map but turned out to be nothing more than a couple of derelict buildings and a factory at a road junction.
My hostal was a further mile or so along the main road, more of a roadside Motel really but with cold beer, good tapas and staff that were ‘largely’ friendly!  I had intended to use the pool at the hostal but with an air-conditioned bar and air-conditioned room the outside world had little attraction.  

The past week has been wickedly hot and so 4 hours on the bike is enough sun for 1 day.

I’m at the hostal for 2 nights so I have a day to explore tomorrow.  I came from the north, to the east and west is the main N340 road but to the south, there are hills!  ??

Leave a comment