My bike is too heavy!

I’m not sure whether it’s the 40 piece family cutlery set or the Le Cruset casserole dishes but my bike seems considerably heavier than makes any sense!  I can barely lift it off the ground so it should be fun trying to manhandle it on to a train tomorrow morning.  If I put my back out at Piccadilly station I’ll just embark upon a hideous deception for the next few weeks and post a series of outrageously exciting adventures from my ‘travels in Spain’.

I am carrying a few days supply of food to save some pennies and more clothes than I will hopefully need once I get established in Spain.  I’m sure my first encounters with northern Spain’s mountains will promote a more lightweight approach.  I’ll try to resist my hoarding instinct and ditch some kit when I get the chance.

A fully loaded touring bike
An overloaded touring bike
I’m hoping my train tomorrow won’t be packed out with Liverpool supporters heading down to Wembley, I’d read there is a shortage of trains from Liverpool so it may be!  I need to change trains at Newton Abbott in Devon which means manhandling ‘The Tank’ again.  I’ll stay in Plymouth tomorrow night but will try to resist a night out on Union Street!
I’m not sure when I’ll next get the chance to update this blog, maybe from my Oxygen tent in a hospital in the Basque country? 
I think my pre-match nerves are on a par with those youngsters playing at Wembley tomorrow, can’t wait for the whistle to blow!

Let the journey begin.

Leave a comment