Murcia 2022: Day 1

La Alforquia to Puerto Lumbreras:It’s been a while!My last cycle tour was in 2018. Since then, age, weight gain and most of all a notable lack of mileage have conspired to turn cycling into what feels like a hobby of towing a fridge freezer around on a trailer without wheels.A desperate last ditch attempt to get some miles/climbing done may well not be enough to allow me a short tour in southern Spain?If there’s an area in Spain where a flat tour can be planned, I have yet to discover it. It certainly isn’t possible in Andalusia.My brother Nick is joining me and will again no doubt enjoy thrashing me on every hill we encounter. Long gone are the days when I waited for Nick at the top of the hills.With availability issues we hatched a cunning plan which entails me cycling day 1 on my owns and Nick getting a lift to the start of day 2.I planned a modest day by Spanish standards for the first day but even that happened to be more miles and more climbing than I’ve done in the last couple of years. Temperatures pushing 30 degs would ensure a challenging enough day.Although it’s becoming quite difficult to plan new routes in this area I managed to contrive a 4 day tour which would be 90% new ground for me.A late start ensured a roasting under the unseasonably hot Spanish sun for the entire ride.Not wanting to become even more heartless than I already am I took the right turn for Pulpi which means octopus in Spanish (more later).As happens in Spain, the back road I was on came unexpectedly to an end so an off road stint through the orange groves was needed but a short push up a gravelly ramp brought me back to the road just short of Pulpi.The small town of Octopus will be remembered mainly for me being comprehensively ignored for 10 minutes by 2 barmaids before being presented with a ridiculously over priced tapa and cold drink.The numerous climbs were hard work but bearable until after the small town of Almendricos where the long drag got the better of me.My lack of fitness was exposed and I laboured up the slog struggling to keep my breathing under control. Twice I had to stop and cower in the scant shade of a roadside bush. Copious amount of water and rest were needed to eventually allow me to crest the rise and enjoy the sweeping descent in to Puerto Lumbreras.My hostal for the night was bar less so a quick change of footwear to soothe my baking feet was swiftly followed by a short hop to the nearest hostelry.The best part of any cycling day in SpainMy hostal for the night was the usual ‘cheapest place in town’ but at least breakfast is included. I could barely sleep due to the excited anticipation of the following mornings offerings!Having visited the town of Pulpi I couldn’t resist the octopus and pig’s trotter croquettes for dinner, very nice too.And my now traditional Spanish nightcap.

2 thoughts on “Murcia 2022: Day 1

Leave a comment