Las Apujarras

Coming home:

I didn’t know the rest of Spain too well but I know Las Alpujarras.  Having seen quite a bit of Spain the area of hills and valley on the south side of the giant Sierra Nevada range is still a favourite. I’m not sure what it it about this area? To me, it’s just special. It has that ‘Sense of Place’ – I feel at home here, the only other place for me that feels so right is the highlands of Scotland. I love the Lakes, Wales, the Yorkshire dales and many foreign parts but these 2 areas are different, somewhere I could spend out my days.

From the fly mecca of the Suspiro del Moro camp site I headed south through Padul and was comforted by the clear route directions in the town of Durcal:-

I passed through the spa town of Lanjaron, western gateway to the Alpujarras and skirted the bohemian town of Orgiva to start the big pull up to the high white villages, the ‘Pueblos Blancos’.

The onward road can be seen half way up the hill, and again at the top.

Looking down from part way up the climb.
I’d been apprehensive about the climb from Orgiva, it was long but the gradient was never too steep so it went easier than expected.

A ‘Roadie’ enjoying the descent:

                           Crossing one of the many deep valleys descending from the high mountains:

I’m always excited by the first glimpse of the high villages of the Poqueira valley,  my destination was Bubion, the bigger village in the centre.  Pampaneira can be seen below and just a trace of the highest of the 3 villages, Capileira, on the left.

Top right is the church in the village of Bubion, the final pull from Pampaneira was demanding enough but I was sustained by the thought of a cold beer at my favourite watering hole in Bubion, the Teide bar.
After a couple of carbohydrate replacement drinks I checked into my usual hostal, Laz Terrazes du Alpujarra, a warm welcome as always from Francisco and Maria-Angeles and the new family member since my last visit, a very vocal African Grey Parrott. It speaks French as well as Spanish, it say Voulez vous!
A rest day awaits tomorrow, shame it’s only one.

Leave a comment